The Kindness of Strangers

We’re far enough into our savings now that if it’s not one of the big three expenses (rent, food, diapers) we think two or three times about making the purchase. This includes thirty cents for each local phone call (I don’t call out), and, well, everything else.

Today I applied to go back to school. My admissions…officer/person/guy faxed me some forms to fill out and send back. And then we found out the hotel charges $1 per page to get or send faxes. (ACK!) Yes, it’s “only” $4, but right now that’s over 4 meals (tv dinners, 88 cents). They don’t usually do this, but the school is making arrangements with the hotel now to pay for the fax charge and get it removed from our room bill. I wanted to be able to tell him not to worry about it, we’ll be okay…but really? Right now I have no idea if we’ll be okay or not.

I felt like crying because I didn’t have the $4. Now I feel like crying because someone was nice to me. I feel an unconditional allegiance to my new school coming on.

Thank you God. And Justin.

6 thoughts on “The Kindness of Strangers

  1. Sorry things are so tough right now! Sometimes when things are bad it's those few, small, nice things which can literally change the direction of your day.Crossing fingers for you and sending {{hugs}}!

    Like

  2. Judie I'm going for a degree in Interior Design.Diane, thanks for the happy thoughts. I'm trying so hard not to fall into the Pit of Despair.

    Like

  3. I'm thrilled you're going back to school AND your hubby has a new job! Things will be brighter; and I think everyone should practice random acts of kindness each and every day. Not just one, either! The most appreciated ones? The unexpected. Happy you received the unexpected! 🙂

    Like

  4. Thanks Brenda. I don't know about school though. Apparently I defaulted on a school loan back in the early 90's. (I paid one and thought they took the other from tax returns) so I don't konw if I'll be able to get another loan. I haven't heard from school since I found that out so…. I'm figuring it's another dream dashed.

    Like

Don't just sit there -- talk to me!

