Say What?

 

Some of you may know that I am teaching Abby sign language. This is because she took forever to actually talk, and honestly, although she’s talking more it still doesn’t seem to be her “thing”. No one is concerned about her vocabulary because she is able to let me know what she wants or needs. As her mother I am concerned by how many words she uses (I’m sure it should be more). Yes, she can let me know what she wants by pointing, signing or whining. I think words should be more of a concern because I know others have no idea what she wants/needs/is thinking..

 

She isn’t quite two yet so NEEDING to get others to understand her isn’t a priority right now (since she spends all her time with me and her daddy)…but I’d still like to hear her using more words.

 

With that said, I am continuing with signing because she seems to like using it, sometimes more than speaking. She will say some loved and used words like “dada” “choo choo” (her favorite DVD), “boop-boop” (for Daddy’s keys because they make the truck beep) and she does things like laugh along with a DVD (a fake laugh), will “sing” and always dances when a song or music is anywhere within earshot.

 

I’ve gotten some Baby Einstein DVD’s with Marlee Matlin signing words around the house and neighborhood. I’ve been all over the internet looking for resources and now I’m sharing the best site I’ve found.

 

 LifePrint.com

 

I’ve linked you to the “parent” set of lessons. They offer more aggressive lessons for student and teachers and also have a page of “100 First Signs”. From the home page you can access a dictionary which shows you signs for words as well as explaining why they use that particular sign and variations of the sign. It’s well set up, there is video for most signs so you can actually see where your hands go and what they’re doing and it’s informative as well as fun. It’s also FREE.

 

I’m more impressed with this source the more I use it, and I know you and your baby will get a lot out of it as well. It’s also handy if you just want to learn to sign because you know someone who signs (we have a deaf lady at our church).

As Abby and I work to increase our signing vocabulary we wish you well. We’ll also be here if you have any questions,

 

You might also enjoy this article by Matt.

One thought on “Say What?

  1. I found you on Bloggy Moms, and I love your blog. I’m new at blogging. I live in Alabama.

    My youngest daughter didn’t speak until she was about 2 1/2 years old. I worried. I coaxed. I pretended not to understand her pointing. I tried to bribe her. Nothing.
    I mean, she knew some words like “Mama” and “mine” and “no”. But, I just couldn’t get her to really speak.
    Then, one morning she walked into the living room, put her tiny face nose to nose with me, and whispered very clearly “Sisters won’t share their tootsie rolls with me.” Imagine my surprise!
    She’s twelve now and hasn’t stopped talking since!

    Like

Don't just sit there -- talk to me!

