Elisa is The Birthday Girl

My secret is out. Yesterday I got another year older.

[Note to universe: it’s not FAIR to dump a whole year on a person in one day!]

I just got back into knitting (YAY!) so for my birthday I just wanted more knitting supplies. My friend Joni sent me a gift card so I could shop and, like a 5 year old on a sugar high, I was hyper and really really REALLY wanting to go yarn shopping last night. I knew after working all day, Matt was tired so I didn’t ask him to take me. We’re going to be out this weekend so I figured I could go then. Before bed I was knitting on my project (a blanket for Abby) and I showed him I was almost out of yarn.

He used his baby voice and said, “It’s ok, honey, we’ll get you more.”

So, I pouted and said, “But I wanna get some NOW.”

Him: “You couldn’t have mentioned this earlier?” (He was obviously tired.)

Me: “I hinted earlier.”

Him: “Well, here.”

He traced circles in the air with his hands and chanted, “Abra cadabra bimblety barn, please bring Elisa lots of yarn!”

Sternly, I said, “No, you’re supposed to sing ‘Like a good neighbor, State Farm is there — with a bunch of yarn!'”

5 thoughts on “Elisa is The Birthday Girl

  1. So I’m typing and typing. Now I’ve run out of things to say, but will tell you again that I enjoy your blog and think you have a wicked sense of humor. I believe I enjoy it so much because it reflects my own. Anyway, Happy Birthday…. again.

    Me

    Like

  2. I’m very much looking forward to the day that you actually understand the concept of laughing so hard tears run down your leg. I mean I’m REALLY looking forward to that day. It’s only fair that you should be plagued with the same thing as the rest of us poor, oldish, folks.

    Love you best,
    me

    Like

    • “Old-ish?” By the time I’m your age it won’t matter if I need diapers because you’ll be in a home and won’t know to ridicule me. 😛

      Like

Don't just sit there -- talk to me!

