Jumping Into Something New

According to Blogher (see widget on right side) June is the month to JUMP. In keeping with that (and purely by accident) I am/have been jumping out of my comfort zone and into the real world to offset all the hermit-like tendencies I’ve been cultivating since we moved down here.

In 2010.

Shut up.

Because I’ve started knitting again I Googled my local area and found a cool yarn shop (where I got some wonderful supplies!) and a knitting group that meets every Monday. I even went so far as to ask my sister-in-law if she’d babysit so I could go. (I don’t go out and I don’t ask for help, so this was a big deal.) I also invited one of the women over to my house. (I had to bail on that, but I get points for asking.) To get to the meeting I had to ask for help and the group put me in touch with another woman who lives near me who lets me ride with her. (Points for talking on the phone and for making small talk with a stranger.)

I painted a flowerpot and planted Matt’s sage plant and I also dug out the old beat up console table that was here when we moved in. I painted it aqua and sanded the edges to make it look old. (Matt made fun of me for taking an old table and making it old.) It looks a thousand times better! I don’t have a before picture, but here’s the after:

I’ve also got an idea or two for the old ladderback chair that was also here when we moved in. I’ve taken the before picture, but need to find a saw before I can proceed with that. I’ll also have to get more paint because Matt stole my aqua and painted the plant stand he uses for a night table. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’d also like to paint our dresser, and I have some ideas for jars and vases and buckets, but that’ll have to wait too.

Right now I’m in the middle of a paper mache sculpture project. I thought Abby and I could do it together, but she hates touching the goo. Who knew?

I don’t know how it’ll turn out or if it’ll turn out, but I’m having fun trying. I also get points for this because I went to my neighbor (we’ve only waved to each other up til now) and asked him for newspapers. I don’t have paint I need for this, but that’s ok. I’m still muddling my way through the paper mache-ing.

So, I’m back to being creative and DOING things, which I’ve missed, and I’m also getting out into the world a bit and re-learning how to be sociable.

I may also be getting married soon, but that’s another blog post. ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

 

Don't just sit there -- talk to me!

